Community Involvement / Life / MISC / Political / Uncategorized

Election 2016

I have been exceedingly quiet on my social media and my blog since this summer when it comes to all things political, because the last couple of times I voiced my opinion, I was verbally attacked and called names I’d rather not repeat. But this… this I have to say something.

I have never felt so un-American in the time that I have been on this earth. I have never felt so sad or ashamed to live in a country where the vast majority of people voted for/supports a person who is the worst example of a man I’ve ever seen. His entire campaign was run on hate, discrimination, mocking the disabled, disrespecting our veterans, sexism, and racism. He promotes and encourages violence, ruins businesses, and brags about sexually assaulting women and dismisses it as ‘locker room talk.’

This ‘man’ is now very likely to be the President of the United States and the Commander-In-Chief. He has NO MILITARY EXPERIENCE and NO POLITICAL EXPERIENCE. At all. ZERO. ZILCH. NONE. If you don’t find that terrifying then I don’t know what to tell you.

I honestly never thought I would utter the words ‘I have never felt so un-American’, but I have. I was under the impression that we were supposed to be a country that celebrated and accepted diversity. A country that accepted and respected each other no matter our differences in views, beliefs, and opinions. But clearly that’s not the case. And It’s pretty obvious to me that the vast majority only care about the population that are of the privileged, white population. Let me clarify: privileged, white, and heterosexual (oh! and male, but I digress). I might be a straight, white, female… but electing this monster and his running mate into office shows that I, along with millions of others, don’t matter. I am terrified for the future of our country. I am terrified for people of color, women, people in the LBGTQ+ community, and immigrants. I truly can not understand how there is so much hatred in our country. This is absolutely unacceptable and I am so sad, embarrassed, ashamed, and sorry that this is what our country has become.

This is the last thing I’m posting about the 2016 Election. Discussion is not welcome on this post (that’s obvious since I’ve turned off the ability for readers to leave comments). There’s really not a whole lot you could say that would convince me a Trump/Pence administration is good for this country. I don’t see how an entire campaign and administration based on hate, misogyny, racism, and discrimination is good for the future of our country, or the world for that matter. I don’t see how it will help fix anything. I didn’t ask for this. I didn’t vote for this. I didn’t want this.

Congratulations, America. You just showed the entire world that hate, racism, and sexism won out over love, equality, and acceptance.

And now I’m going radio silent. Peace out.

